Ready? Set? Jump!

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Ed Tech
Tags:

I wouldn’t say I’ve ever been on the cutting edge of technology. I’m not one that HAS to have the latest gadget or race out for the next upgrade. (“Money doesn’t grow on trees!” my dad would say!) Perhaps this approach has been my downfall. I am tragically out of date with all of the emerging technologies out there but am trying to rectify that with my latest attempts to jump in.

I feel a little like that kid at the playground who’s watching the merry-go-round spinning at break neck speed trying to time her leap. It’s an apt metaphor is it not? Technology is advancing at break neck speed and if you turn your back for a moment (God forbid a year or two!) you’re miles behind the times. It truly is dizzying.

What’s one to do when that realization hits? Oh, No! I AM just like my mother when computers, cell phones, or ‘XYZ technology of the day’ came out. (What? You mean your VCR clock didn’t blink?!) Thank goodness my kids are too young to notice but I can already hear them groaning about my future technology blunders, “Ohhh, Mom!”

So now what? What’s that bewildered kid watching the merry-go-round to do? Stand and wait (and wait and wait) for that perfect moment to jump on? Bemoan the fact that it’s going too fast? Ask a big kid to stop the merry-go-round so she can get on? (Like that’s going to happen!) Walk away?

NO! She’ll do the only thing she can do. Jump! Start from where you are and begin (…and if a big kid is willing to help, great!)

Ready? Set? Jump!

Comments
  1. Jeanette says:

    Interesting first post I must say. Good job lots to think about for sure!

  2. mybrainstorm says:

    Thanks for taking the time to check it out Jeanette!

Leave a Reply

